LiquidVPN Review

 

12th May 2015

Summary:

Today I reviewed LiquidVPN to see what kind of features they had to offer with their service. Here’s what I found out.

Pros:

  • up to 10 simultaneous connections
  • unlimited bandwidth
  • great customer service
  • fast connection

Cons:

  • not the simplest set up process
  • only e-mail support available
  • software isn’t very user-friendly

Overall Score:  80.5/100

This score is much lower than the 97/100 scored by our best VPN – Express VPN.

LiquidVPN did pretty well, but lost some points for the nature of its software.

To get LiquidVPN, sign up here:  LiquidVPN

———————————–

Get LiquidVPN VPN Now

 

 

VPNs are quickly taking the world by storm as one of the easiest ways to bypass content blocks and access all of your favorite sites and services.

This technology allows people in countries with restricted access like China to access all of the same content as their American buddies, and even prevents government snooping.

VPNs are also a great way to protect against security threats from hackers because they put you in an encrypted tunnel that keeps all of your information safe.

With such a versatile bit of technology though, the market has been flooded with companies selling these connections to consumers, all claiming to have the best and fastest.

I’ll help you sort through the white noise of marketing, and get down to what these guys really have to offer.

I’ll be reviewing LiquidVPN, to see what kind of features they have to offer, and how their service compares to some of their competitors.

 

 

Will LiquidVPN Work on My Operating System?

Okay, let’s begin the process of elimination. Before you look at anything, you need to make sure that the VPN you’re checking out is going to work on your operating system.

Keep in mind that you can usually use these connections on more than one device at a time, so make sure the software is going to work on everything from your laptop to your iPhone.

Unfortunately, LiquidVPN is only compatible with Windows and Mac systems. This is pretty limited compared to most other VPNs’ compatibility, so it’s not the best deal.

Rating:  2/5 – Only compatible with Windows and Mac

 

Get LiquidVPN VPN Now

What Kind of Features Does LiquidVPN Have?

This category is pretty big, and can really vary a lot from company to company.

I’ll highlight what each feature means, what you can usually expect from the best VPNs out there, and then we’ll go through what LiquidVPN has to offer its customers. Let’s jump right in.

 

Feature #1: Multiple Connections

This feature refers to the number of devices you can connect the VPN to as the same time.

Since most people use at least two devices, you’re going to want a VPN that allows you to use their secure connection on a minimum of two of them simultaneously. And of course, the more the merrier.

With LiquidVPN it depends on your service package. The very minimum number of connections is two, and goes all the way up to ten, so they offer more than enough to cover all of your devices.

Rating:  5/5 – Up to 10 connections

 

Feature #2:  Money Back Guarantee

This one goes without saying, except to really state the importance of being able to get a refund.

A lot of people get frustrated with technical problems, and if the company doesn’t have to worry about giving you a refund, they really have little incentive to keep you happy.

The longer the terms of the guarantee, the better, but the best ones are at least a week. LiquidVPN has a great refund policy, in writing on their site.

With these guys, you can get your money back within 7 days, or before you hit 5 GB of data – whichever comes first. No restrictions, no questions asked.

Rating:  5/5 – One week to get a refund

 

Feature #3:  Number of Servers

The number of servers a VPN has to offer matters because it can really impact the quality of your connection (or in some cases, your ability to connect at all).

The more servers a VPN provider has, the wider the distribution of their customer base.

Also check their list to make sure they have one in your neck of the woods, so your connection is reliable. At minimum, they should have 50 servers to choose from.

LiquidVPN has about 50 servers total, with locations all around the world. It’s not a huge network, but enough to get you access, and hopefully to handle their customer load most of the time.

Rating:  4/5 – Good amount of servers

 

Feature #4:  Referral Program

This is a pretty awesome feature, but one that you aren’t likely to see much of. However, keep your eyes peeled for it, because it could save you some serious dough.

A few VPN providers out there will actually give their customers free or discounted service for sending new business their way.

Despite their awesome money back guarantee, a referral program isn’t something LiquidVPN offers its customers at this time.

Rating:  0/5 – No kickbacks

 

Feature #5:  Data Logging

This is the practice of taking and storing logs of your internet activity. What’s it doing in the features list? Exactly. No way should and VPN provider ever be storing any of your activity.

Make sure to check their privacy policy and terms of service so it’s clear exactly what information they keep on file, which should be limited to an IP address at the most (for tech support purposes).

LiquidVPN is adamant about never logging any of their users’ data. Though you’ll need some basic information to set up an account with them, there will never be any record of what you do online.

Rating:  5/5 – No data logging, ever

 

Feature #6:  Bandwidth

This refers to the data capacity of the connection, and the more you get, the more you can push through at a time. Netflix addicts and Pandora junkies, pay attention to this one.

Monthly bandwidth caps are maddening to say the least, so make sure whichever VPN you go with offers unlimited bandwidth with their service packages.

All of LiquidVPN’s service plans come with completely unlimited bandwidth, so you never have to worry about hitting a service limit.

Rating:  5/5 – No bandwidth caps

 

Get LiquidVPN VPN Now

 

How Secure Is It?

Even if you’re just using a VPN to bypass content blocks, the added benefit of a secure connection is something you need to consider.

Make sure that you’re not just getting a shiny new IP address, but top of the line encryption, and options to customize your security for your own needs.

Encryption comes in a few different protocols, but two basic strengths. There’s 128 bit, which is strong, and 256 bit, which is military grade.

While both do a good job of protecting your connection, there’s no doubt that 256 bit is the most secure you’ll find.

No matter which VPN provider you choose, they should at least offer you the option of the best encryption money can buy.

LiquidVPN offers a couple of different options for security for its customers. In addition to basic encryption strength, they offer the best on the market with their OpenVPN application at 256 bit.

They also have some great features built in, like an automatic connection kill switch that terminates the session if the VPN fails. Overall, pretty well rounded security.

Rating: 5/5 – Strong encryption, great options

Get LiquidVPN VPN Now

 

What’s the Set Up Process Like?

Not everyone’s familiar with what the heck a VPN is, and just how they work.

While the software is a simple way to anonymize your browsing, since not everybody’s used it before, it should take a software savant to set it up.

Some companies will have you manually configure their connections, but it should be as simple as downloading and installing with most of them.

While set up wasn’t too overly-complicated, it was still a bit more than your standard download/install procedure.

You have to download your compatible software zipfile from their site, then extract the files.

After starting the installation process by going into the file, you then have to use the license file in the zip file to complete set up.

Like I said, not crazy complicated, but not the simplest either.

Rating:  3.5/5 – Set up could be simpler

 

Get LiquidVPN VPN Now

 

Is it Easy to Use?

Once you get it installed, it shouldn’t take any more to connect than to pick a server and go. If you’re having to jump into your network connection settings, you’re already working too hard.

Once you get LiquidVPN set up, using it isn’t too complicated. I’m not crazy about the fact that they don’t have a software dashboard, but it is nice that all of your protocols are laid out clearly.

On a Windows system, you just go into the notification icon in your panel, right click, and decide which protocol, and then which server you want.

As I said, this kind of makes for a crowded menu that isn’t the simplest to navigate, but it’s undeniably easy to use.

Rating:  3.5/5 – Crowded menu, no software dashboard

 

Logging In

While you do have to log in to use LiquidVPN’s software, you can also check a box to have the program remember your credentials, should you have to restart your system or sign out.

 

Changing Servers

Changing servers isn’t quite as simple as I’d like it to be with LiquidVPN.

This is mainly due to the fact that there isn’t a magic disconnect button – you have to go back through the menu to the server you’re on and disconnect by clicking on it again.

Not a total nuisance, but it’s a bit more roundabout a process than most.

 

Get LiquidVPN VPN Now

 

What If I Need Help?

Customer service is second only to connection quality, so pay close attention to this one. If the company doesn’t care about helping you, then they don’t deserve your money.

24/7 Support?

This is no doubt the most important part of great customer service.

VPNs are used all over the world, in every time zone, so you need to be able to get prompt customer service regardless of what time it is, or whether it’s the weekend or not.

LiquidVPN may not have live chat, but their e-mail support is 24/7/365, so you should get a fast response no matter what day or time you’re sending it in.

Rating:  5/5 – Round the clock support

 

Channels

It helps to get things moving a bit faster if you have a few different ways to get in touch with customer service.

E-mail is the bare minimum to look for, but live features for instant support like chat and phone are the best.

LiquidVPN, as I mentioned before, only offers its customers e-mail support through a ticket system on their website.

While service is likely to be prompt, it won’t be instantaneous as with live chat and phone support.

Rating:  2.5/5 – Only e-mail support

 

Customer Support Test

What better way to see just how good LiquidVPN’s customer service really is, then to put them to the test?

I gave their support team a workout, making sure to contact them through all of their available channels, and both during peak and off business hours. Let’s see how they did.

 

E-mail Support Test #1 – Sunday/1:35 p.m.

I sent my first service inquiry in to LiquidVPN in the middle of the afternoon, in the hopes of catching them during their busiest time of day.

Still, I got a very fast response. In less than 15 minutes, I had an answer to my question – totally unheard of.

Result: 11 minutes

Rating:  5/5 – Incredible service

 

E-mail Support Test #2 – Monday/2:23 a.m.

The next response I got from LiquidVPN took a bit longer, but still only over an hour.

In my experience, you wait hours and even days, so I wasn’t too bothered with the longer wait in the wee hours of the morning.

Result: 1 hour 11 minutes

Rating:  4/5 – Still pretty fast

 

I was really impressed with LiquidVPN’s customer service.

Even though they don’t have live chat support, they’re true to their word of  24/7 support, with very fast responses, and professional customer service reps that get the job done.

Overall Support Rating:  9/10 – Fast, friendly, and on the ball

 

Get LiquidVPN VPN Now

How Fast is LiquidVPN?

It’s really hard to know just how fast a VPN is until you give it a test run, but this is something that can really affect your connection quality, particularly if you stream a lot of movies and music.

I put LiquidVPN to the test, running a speed test on my own home connection, and then one with their VPN, to see how the two compared.

liquidwo

Without LiquidVPN

 

liquidw

With LiquidVPN

 

My connection with LiquidVPN was only marginally slower, even with their strongest OpenVPN security protocol.

Usually I see at least a 2 mbps difference, but with these guys it was only .02 – very impressive.

Rating:  5/5 – Almost as fast as standard connection

 

Get LiquidVPN VPN Now

 

How Much Does LiquidVPN Cost?

Finally, you need to make sure that you’re not going to paying an unfair monthly rate once you’ve decided if they have enough features for you.

The most you should even consider paying is $15 a month – anything more than that, and trust me, you can do better.

liquidcost

 

LiquidVPN’s plans are pretty affordable, with rates starting at just $6 per month.

They have plans that escalate in price from there, though there are a couple of options in the lower price spectrum for the budget-conscious.

Rating:  4/5 – Affordable plans to choose from

 

Get LiquidVPN VPN Now

 

The X Factor

This category refers to the overall impression you get from a company. Despite the vagueness of the x factor, it can really make or break the deal with a lot of customers.

Pushy marketing, lack of information, and poorly designed website can really turn some customers off.

I really got a good feeling from LiquidVPN.  Their website had a lot of great information on it, though it would have been nice to have more of the important specifics on their services and network.

However, they really seemed to have an honest and upfront marketing style, and a well organized site that laid out the information nicely.

Rating:  17/20 – Organized and professional

 

[button style=’orange’ target=’_blank’ url=’/go/liquidvpn/review/’ icon=’elusive-right’]Get LiquidVPN Now[/button]

 

Conclusion

So that pretty much covers what you need to look at when you’re shopping around for a VPN. Let’s do a quick recap and see how LiquidVPN did.

Pros:

  • up to ten connections
  • 7 day money back guarantee
  • no data logging
  • 50+ servers to choose from
  • unlimited bandwidth with all plans
  • great customer service
  • 24/7 support
  • reasonable monthly rates
  • top of the line security
  • very fast connection, even with 256 bit encryption
  • professional website

Cons:

  • only compatible with Windows and Mac
  • no referral program
  • a little tricky to set up
  • no software dashboard
  • crowded menu
  • only e-mail support available

 

Overall Score:  80.5/100

Overall, LiquidVPN is about a 50/50 split. If you’re confident that you can get their software set up with the help of their set up guides, I wouldn’t worry too much.

But if you’re running anything but Windows or Mac, that right there drops them out of the running.

To get LiquidVPN, sign up here:  LiquidVPN

To see the highest rated VPN that scored a 97/100, click here:   Express VPN.

8 Total Score
LiquidVPN Review

8Editor's score
Support
9
Speed
10
Privacy
10
Usability
7.5
Value
9
6.3User's score
Support
5
Speed
7.7
Privacy
9
Usability
5.2
Value
5
Add your review  |  Read reviews and comments

Lyndon Seitz News maker and gatherer. Editor-in-Chief of Secure Thoughts.

11 Comments
Show all Highest Rating Lowest Rating Add your review
  1. Reply liquidvpn@dispostable.com'
    Mike
    September 28, 2015 at 6:29 am

    They do not honour their refund policy even when you meet the requirements. No questions asked… my ass.

    Request for refund was made within the 7 days policy.

    1. Refund was delayed as they said they do not keep Bitcoin in their wallet and it takes time to transfer from their bank.
    2. Requested for an update one week later, no reply and my ticket was closed,
    3. Started a new ticket and Mike Chamberlain replied that it takes time as they haven’t had a Bitcoin signup recently. Thus they could not refund.
    4. 2 Weeks later. Asked for an update, no reply and the ticket was deleted.
    5. Started a new ticket and this time Mike Chamberlain replied stating that BTC, Cash and other crypto currencies are not eligible for a refund.

    This is mind boggling since he was the person who replied at (3). Secondly the TOS was changed after the request for a refund was made. In fact this line –

    “We do not refund cash and other cryptocurrency payments”

    was added after the 25th September 2015.

    Here’s the link to Google cached page –
    http://webcache.googleusercontent.com/search?q=cache:LvmzM9fy4s0J:https://www.liquidvpn.com/terms-of-service/+&cd=1&hl=en&ct=clnk

    My account has since been locked which means I can’t even start a conversation with them regarding this. Even if I could, there isn’t much point in doing so, since they would either delete the support ticket and delay anything but refund.

    They have basically accepted my money, provided no service and changed their TOS to legitimize their right to rob BTC. Imagine them doing that if I had paid by credit card or Paypal. They are able to get away with it because its BTC and most users who needs a VPN would rather pay via crypto currency

    Unethical and obnoxious. Mike Chamberlain has tried to hoodwink and bully the refund from me. I would really think twice about trusting them with anything.

  2. Reply darkmanxl@hotmail.com'
    Jim
    March 7, 2016 at 4:49 pm

    I used to be a customer of theirs in 2015 but did not like their software. When I found out they released new software I asked for a free trial. They replied in just a few minutes with a link. I must say I was pleasantly surprised with their new software. The only OS they do not have custom software for appears to be iOS but I am an Android user so I am quite all right with that.

  3. Reply clintonfisher@live.com'
    Clinton
    May 18, 2016 at 8:38 pm

    I dislike this VPN, joined for the dynamic IP service. When I tried to explain it wasn’t working correctly they told me I must have been using Shared IP servers not public. I was using Public tried again email them then they said it does not assign you a IP at random. It assigns them in order of people on the server. On multiple different sites (and their own) it says each time you disconnect and reconnect it connects you with one of 2000 IP adress’s completely at random. That most certainly is not the case.

    The kill switch “Liquid Lock” is a joke it only works if you do not have a paid aftermarket security software. If you are not using Windows default firewall expect for it to not work at all. When I emailed them about this I asked them why it wasn’t working and how to fix it.

    There solution was to uninstall BitDefender Total Security and instead install Avast Free for the kill switch to work

    I had nothing but problems with this company and I really loved the idea of a dynamic IP VPN for my gold farm.

    Asked for a refund, they gave me a list of requirements to do. Did them and have not heard back from them sense. This company is pathetic.

    • Reply patty.hamm@liquidvpn.com'
      Patty
      June 29, 2016 at 5:39 am

      I am a little surprised about your comments here. Routers assign IPs in the same order every time. If you disconnect then hurry and reconnect to the same server you are always going to get the same IP. We randomize the order in which the router assigns each IP in the subnet. You were told to either switch from UDP to TCP or change your port before reconnecting to the server if you wanted a different IP.

      Liquid Lock is a full featured firewall built with WPF. Just like your bit defender. You cannot have two firewalls running at the same time and expect things to just work.

      Finally you opened a ticket asking for a refund on the 5/18 at 3:18 AM and were told on 5/18 at 4:35 AM that we would refund your payment as soon as you close your account from link we provided. You did not close your account until 5/19 at 4:02 AM our billing department opens at 9:00 AM and your refund was processed at 9:38 AM Transaction ID [editing note: we didn’t want to include a transaction ID for all the world to see but thought this information would be useful. We can assure you that there was one, however]

    • Reply
      Lyndon Seitz
      May 31, 2016 at 9:02 am

      Hey Clinton,

      I’m sorry you had this poor experience with them. I can’t say we thought it was the best either.

      If you’re looking for an alternative now, you might want to check out our main VPN review page: https://securethoughts.com/vpn-review/

      I hope this helps!

  4. Reply pieterraxis@gmx.net'
    pieter raxis
    June 11, 2016 at 8:37 pm
    2
    Support
    0
    Speed
    100
    Privacy
    100
    Usability
    0
    Value
    0

    I can connect to a server.

    After that i can’t browse the web. I do can ping every site. So looks like DNS

    After asking what is going on they do not reply to my ticked.

    I asked many many times, even asked why the do not respond.

    At a refund request they answered : we do not do refund. I was over my days and over the 5 gb limit I understand.
    But I asked money back for there lousy service

    I will update this post if they helped me after this shout out

    • Reply patty.hamm@liquidvpn.com'
      Patty
      June 29, 2016 at 6:06 am

      Pieter,

      Every ticket you opened Ryan promptly replied too attempting to get more information about your problem and each of his replies went unanswered by you until Sunday June 12th at 4:30 in the morning when you said

      “sorry! only now logged in to dashboard i see your replys!

      sorry again.

      now lets go to work !”

      Of course I see Ryan got to the bottom of your problem. You unchecked the option “Remove the default gateway” in the advanced tab of the LiquidVPN client. There is a warning on the top of that tab that tells you to adjust the default settings at your own risk.

      You have been a customer of this “lousy service” for almost 3 years without problems until you changed settings that you were warned about changing. When you asked for a refund you had not made a payment in 6 months.

      How come you never came back here and updated your post?

    • Reply
      Lyndon Seitz
      June 13, 2016 at 11:43 am

      Hey Pieter,

      Sorry to hear about this. Sometimes VPNs can have technical problems like this and it can be frustrating.

      Looking forward to hearing again from you, hopefully with good news.

      Best,
      Lyndon

  5. Reply snaqjerzey@gmail.com'
    JayD
    June 28, 2016 at 4:12 pm
    4.6
    Support
    100
    Speed
    100
    Privacy
    100
    Usability
    70
    Value
    90

    My experience could not be different than Pieters. I signed up for a year because I heard USA Netflix worked with these guys. I could not get it working so I asked for a refund. Within 30 minutes they gave me instructions on how to cancel my service (which was easy to follow) and within another 45 minutes I had my refund. However about an hour later I got an email from one of their support reps that offered to help me get Netflix working. After about 15 minutes he had Netflix running on my machine. After my free month runs out I will renew (unless netflix starts messing with us again)

    + PROS: USA Netflix works on every server They assign public and shared IP addresses
    - CONS: Control panel is a bit wonky
  6. Reply dianepana@gmail.com'
    Diane Panagiotopolous
    August 10, 2016 at 10:05 am
    1.4
    Support
    10
    Speed
    10
    Privacy
    60
    Usability
    50
    Value
    10

    Liquidvpn does not work as advertised. I am a programmer and a digital nomad. When I traveled both South America and Asia, the service simply didn’t work. I had to use another service. Getting my money back took weeks and weeks, and I only got a partial refund after nearly a dozen emails. It is a nice service – when it works…. Which is almost never

    • Reply logan@teksystems.com'
      logan
      August 13, 2016 at 2:25 pm
      4.8
      Support
      90
      Speed
      100
      Privacy
      100
      Usability
      90
      Value
      100

      To the guy above me. LiquidVPN clearly states that they have a 7 day refund policy. I have never had an issue connecting to their servers. It sounds like maybe there was a Human Interface Error.

      + PROS: Fast network, heavy encryption, and good privacy
      - CONS: No Live Chat, no Australian servers and as of 8/13/2016 no Android N beta support for their custom software.

    Leave a reply

    Your total score