Buffered VPN Review – 2017 Review

Share this...
Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedIn

Last Update: 23.11.2017

BufferedVPN is a Hungary-based VPN provider that maintains a small network of about 40 servers with unlimited bandwidth as standard. Although the company has only been in business for four years, this underdog of the VPN world is beginning to crop up on reviewers’ radars with increasing frequency. So does it have what it takes to satisfy users’ needs? Find out in our updated Buffered VPN review.

Buffered Review

BufferedVPN Review – Pros & Cons

PROS:
  • All major operating systems supported
  • Unlimited bandwidth
  • Built-in firewall test functionality
  • Five simultaneous connections
  • Simple UI

CONS:
  • Small server network
  • Complicated setup for routers and Android
  • No free trial
  • Netflix is blocked from US servers
  • Only supports Open VPN

Buffered VPN Review

6.5 Total Score
Buffered VPN Review

6.8Editor's score
Support
8
Speed
6.2
Privacy
6.2
Usability
7.2
Value
6.5
7.6User's score
Support
7.6
Speed
7.5
Privacy
7.6
Usability
8.1
Value
7.3
Add your review  |  Read reviews and comments

Get BufferedVPN

Setup and Usability

Even technophobes have no reason to fear using BufferedVPN to tunnel and encrypt their traffic on a PC.

Getting set up on BufferedVPN is as easy as logging into the online download area, selecting the right client for your system, and clicking through a few windows. Currently, applications are available for Windows, OSX, Linux, iOS, and Android.

Buffered Review

For mobile users and those wishing to install the app at the router level, the situation is a little more complicated.

For both Android and iOS, the platform does not offer a proprietary application. Instead, users need to download the OpenVPN app for their platform and then use the .opvn connection file to set up the connection. The setup process for the DD-WRT and Tomato routers is a little involved, although Buffered does provide thorough documentation to walk users through both installation processes. Users that want to use the service on multiple devices may therefore be better served simply installing the service one-by-one.

Buffered Review - Settings window

 

In terms of functionality, the app offers a relatively bare-bones experience that is unlikely to please those looking for a VPN that lets users really get under the hood. The main navigation window is designed as a simple narrow window with a menu button to navigate between the main screens. Although Buffered VPN doesn’t pack on the features, it does offer enough functionality to let users’ basic parameters that determine how they want their connection to work.

Rating: 7.2/10: Coverage for all OSes but no native mobile client.

BufferedVPN Features

  1. Simultaneous connections

Buffered offers support for five simultaneous connections which means that users can log in from a desktop PC, tablet, and mobile device at the same time on the one account. Simply by subscribing to one monthly subscription, a user can stream content on a multimedia center and encrypt their main browsing activity simultaneously.

  1. Firewall test

Want to know exactly what ports your system has available to connect from? If you do, then Buffer’s “Firewall Test” feature will be one that you will appreciate. The tester scans both TCP and UDP ports to enable users to quickly visualize which ports the system can make an outbound connection from. This feature is particularly helpful that want to bypass firewalls or other restricted networks and help guide the program to make the best choice.

Buffered Review - Firewall test

 

  1. No peer to peer (P2P) restrictions

 Buffered evidently wants its users to derive maximum possible value from using the platform and is one of the few providers on the market that does not levy any restrictions on peer to peer (P2P) connections. P2P systems use a network of users to efficiently transmit large files between users.

  1. Unlimited bandwidth

Unlike many providers on the market, Buffered VPN features unlimited bandwidth which makes it a great option for users hoping to use the VPN primarily for streaming multimedia. Note that this does not apply to the 30 day money-back guarantee. Regular users, however, can use the VPN without worrying about how much of the monthly connection quota that late night streaming binge has burned through.

  1. TCP/UDP Switching

TCP and UDP are two different protocols used to send data over the internet. While UDP offers faster connectivity, TCP is the more reliable of the two options. BufferedVPN makes it easy for users to select which of the two they want to connect with.

In addition to the above, the VPN features the ability to automatically start the program on system launch and to automatically login to the application.

Rating: 8/10: Buffered has all the necessary VPN functions but don’t offer anything “special.”

Can BufferedVPN Unblock Netflix?

If you’re a streaming fanatic, Buffered’s Netflix credentials are going to be of key importance in your purchasing decision.

Unfortunately, the service is not currently able to connect to Netflix. A customer service representative confirmed this to a third-party review site earlier in the month and this was also our experience while trying to connect from our test machine.

Netflix is actively blocking IPs emanating from VPN addresses and providers’ success at circumventing these largely depends on their network size. As BufferedVPN’s is small, we’d recommend looking for other providers if you need a VPN primarily for this purpose.

Rating: 3/10: Buffered doesn’t support Netflix but it doesn’t mean they won’t try in the future.

Buffered VPN Price

BufferedVPN is available for $12.99/month, $9.99/month (for six month / biannual subscriptions), or $8.25/month for the yearly subscription.

Payment can be made via credit card, PayPal, or Bitcoin and all plans include a 30 day money-back guarantee, although users must use less than 10GB of bandwidth or 10 hours of sessions to be eligible for a refund.

On the brass tacks question, we feel that Buffered VPN falls down a little. Notably, there’s no free trial and the money-back guarantee comes with some unusual conditions. The subscription is also relatively expensive given the small server network and paucity of advanced features. This is particularly true for the monthly plan.

Rating: 5.5/10 – In terms of value for money, Buffered VPN doesn’t impress.

How Fast Is BufferedVPN: Servers and Performance

 Buffered VPN is a small, Hungary-based provider that operates a network of about forty servers.

Unlike much of the competition, the company does not offer an easily accessible listing of exactly how many servers it operates or why they are located, simply providing a list of countries it has provisioned in on its homepage in its stead.

Buffered Review - Disconnected

Speed and performance, however, were quite acceptable.

On the US East Coast server we managed to achieve a download speed of 22.02 Mbp/s (baseline: approximately 40 Mbp/s). While this speed is adequate for most browsing and streaming needs, we’ve experienced better with other providers, and a 50% connection speed overhead is also not the lightest that we have experienced.

Buffered Review - Downlink speed

It’s also important to note that Buffered VPN “uses the OpenVPN protocol exclusively.” While it’s hard to disagree with the website’s contention that OpenVPN is the most configurable of the protocols on the market, it’s also nice to be able to select the protocol. In particular, users will lose out on the ability to use the Next Generation Encryption (NGE) found in IKEv2. They also won’t be able to select PPTP, which may be the only option for legacy hardware.

Rating: 6.2/10 Acceptable streaming speeds, but only open protocol supported.

How Secure is BufferedVPN – Buffered Logs

Buffered VPN proudly claims that it “never logs anything” in its FAQ about its logging policy and can thus be considered a zero logs provider. Nevertheless, under clause three of its terms of service, it states that: “We do not intentionally disclose any private electronic communication or personal customer information unless required by Hungarian law”.

In terms of susceptibility to government surveillance, the company is based in Hungary, which is a member of the European Union (EU). Hungary isn’t part of the Five Eyes, Nine Eyes, of Fourteen Eyes signals surveillance agreements. Nevertheless, to meet its EU obligations (particularly the Data Retention Directive), Hungary has also implemented some data retention legislation, namely the amended version of the National Security Law. Read in light of the clause in the terms of service, we therefore wouldn’t be fully confident that user data could be leaked on foot of a government warrant.

Rating: 6.2/10 A no-logs provider, but Hungary has some data retention laws on the books.

Is BufferedVPN Reliable: Customer Support

BufferedVPN has an online support center and a system to receive tickets which are answered by email. The online support area claims to be able to resolve 95% of customer queries and it is well-populated with guides and how-to’s for every kind of installation requirement.

One obvious negative is that the website does not offer live chat or telephone support. Nevertheless, queries are answered professionally and quickly. Our test ticket got a response within three hours.

Rating: 7.5/10 Good self-help resources but would be bolstered by live-support options.

Buffered VPN Rating by SecureThoughts.com

We’d give this service a 7/10. The server network isn’t huge and speed is on par. And while Buffered doesn’t offer extra features to “sweeten” their service, if you are looking for a basic VPN that will help you stream content, download torrents, or protect your privacy, it is a good choice.

Sign up with Buffered VPN here.

The Fastest and Most Secure VPN - BufferedVPN

Exclusive Offer - Save up to 36%

$8.25/mo $12.99

Blogger for CyberSecurity Technology and News

11 Comments
Show all Highest Rating Lowest Rating Add your review
  1. Reply josephl@hotmail.com'
    Joseph
    December 7, 2017 at 12:29 am
    4.6
    Support
    100
    Speed
    90
    Privacy
    90
    Usability
    90
    Value
    90

    I switched to Buffered VPN mainly because it’s much cheaper than my old VPN, and I was having a lot of trouble with availability of US servers. Since switching I’ve been very happy with the service!

    + PROS: Decent speeds and very cheap package!
    - CONS: Small number of servers
  2. Reply mariaj@hotmail.com'
    Maria
    December 3, 2017 at 12:35 am
    4.4
    Support
    80
    Speed
    90
    Privacy
    90
    Usability
    90
    Value
    90

    I was suddenly really worried about my computer and phone’s security but I really suck with techy stuff. That’s why I chose Buffered, because I read that it was easy for newcomers to VPN. And as a serious technophobe I can say that it was very straightforward to use! It’s very simple to select another country and get browsing as usual. The only difference is the icon thingy on the corner of the screen. Much less complicated than I imagined! The only issue I had was that customer support took a couple of hours to get back to me, and there was no live support option to write a quick message for a quick response.

    + PROS: Perfect for techno-phobes, very easy to use
    - CONS: Mediocre customer support
  3. Reply josephd@hotmail.com'
    Joseph
    November 22, 2017 at 12:40 am
    4.5
    Support
    90
    Speed
    90
    Privacy
    90
    Usability
    90
    Value
    90

    I only really downloaded BufferedVPN because I wanted access to the U.S Netflix library from South Africa. Most VPNs can’t actually unblock Netflix, but I can guarantee that this one does! The streaming has also been pretty smooth with only the occasional hiccups in speed.

    + PROS: Can unblock Netflix
    - CONS: A little slow sometimes (when it comes to streaming)
  4. Reply fredb@hotmail.com'
    Fred
    November 22, 2017 at 12:39 am
    4.4
    Support
    90
    Speed
    90
    Privacy
    90
    Usability
    90
    Value
    80

    BufferedVPN works great on my Android device (I have a Samsung Galaxy S7) and it also works well on my Windows PC as well as my wife’s iPhone. I kind of just wish they had some more add on tools as it’s a very simple VPN. But saying that, it gets the job done, and the plan covers all of my devices. 🙂

    + PROS: Works well on a variety of devices, connects all 3 of my devices at one time
    - CONS: Basic VPN, doesn’t have add ons (such as malware protection)
  5. Reply luella.el@gmail.com'
    Kayley J.
    November 20, 2017 at 3:00 am

    I just love that you can connect so many devices at once! I share BufferedVPN with my flatmates for our laptops, all 4 of us have the 1 account making it super cheap ;). The only issue I had is that sometimes if would make my laptop a little slow

  6. Reply tfgl1974@gmail.com'
    Tiffany Griffin LeBlanc
    March 12, 2017 at 9:16 am
    0.6
    Support
    20
    Speed
    20
    Privacy
    0
    Usability
    0
    Value
    20

    I live in Germany and we cannot get US Netflix anymore. Even though Buffered VPN said they could get us US Netflix, they could NOT. Not a good service. As far as I know there is not a VPN out there that can get around Netflix now.

  7. Reply jason@jordanfried.com'
    Jason
    August 10, 2016 at 12:44 am
    5
    Support
    100
    Speed
    100
    Privacy
    100
    Usability
    100
    Value
    100

    I’ve got to be honest here…

    I think Buffered is by far the best VPN software available on the market today.

    Yes it is slightly higher in price but you absolutely get what you pay for.

    They do have a 30 day money-back guarantee and they honor it as long as you don’t use the service for 100 hours or download a shit load of data. This costs money people!

    + PROS: Easy to use Fast speeds great support
    - CONS: higher price but with the money.
  8. Reply tedafripha@thraml.com'
    Jason
    June 28, 2016 at 5:13 pm
    1.5
    Support
    20
    Speed
    10
    Privacy
    40
    Usability
    80
    Value
    0

    These bastards wont give me back my money! After getting terrible speeds and allowing them to try to fix the issue for 2 weeks I finally got fed up with it and requested a refund. They did not reply. So I tried again and again they didn’t reply. I had to file a chargeback in order to get my money back.

    • Reply
      Lyndon Seitz
      July 5, 2016 at 8:39 am

      Hey Jason,

      Sorry that you has this messy experience with them. We’ll try and get in touch with BufferedVPN and see whats up.

      Best,
      Lyndon

  9. Reply email@leighsheppard.com'
    Leigh Sheppard
    June 8, 2016 at 4:17 pm

    Your speed test results are unbelievably slow. How old is this review? I get the following results on my 5 year old HP laptop

    PING: 9 ms
    DOWNLOAD: 70.59 Mbps
    UPLOAD: 6.55 Mbps

    I’m not telling you this to brag. I am concerned that you show a Ping via VPN that is 3 times as slow as “normal”. Your VPN download speed is less than half of normal as is your upload speed, yet you summarize the results as “Slightly slower connection” and state that you didn’t feel much difference. At my speeds it most certainly would be noticeable if I suddenly dropped from 70 Mbps to 35 Mbps.

    • Reply
      Lyndon Seitz
      June 13, 2016 at 11:28 am

      Hey Leigh,

      This review was from earlier this year. We found these speeds to be the speed of the average user, which is our target audience. While we know that speeds can be faster, we have to keep our entire audience in mind.

      We’ll take a look at our test speeds again and update them if there’s something out of place.

      Thanks for letting us know about this.

      Best,
      Lyndon

Leave a reply

Your total score