Editor choice

ExpressVPN Review 2017

ExpressVPN is the market-leading VPN provider and the highest rated VPN provider we’ve reviewed, scoring 96 out of a possible 100. And the top VPN Review recommendation.

Here’s why.

Pros: There’s a lot to like about ExpressVPN. They:

  • Work on all operating systems
  • Have fast speeds and unlimited bandwidth across their 97 servers
  • Are easy to set up and use and are incredibly secure (256bit encryption)
  • Have excellent customer support backed by a 30-day money-back guarantee
  • Are BVI based and log bandwidth used but not the usage

Cons: There’s not much to not like about ExpressVPN. They:

  • Only have live chat and email support. There’s no phone support available.

Overall Score: 96/100 (our highest rated VPN)

If you want a fast, safe, secure, and well-supported VPN, with a 30-day money-back guarantee, then Express VPN is for you.

To get the highest-rated VPN we’ve reviewed, sign up here: ExpressVPN

 

ExpressVPN-red-horizontal-RGB-6daa08a0153cb3d000b1899773b6815d

3 Extra Months FREE

Exclusive Limited Time Deal: 12 Months + 3 Months FREE for a yearly subscription.

$6.67 $12.95
9.6 Total Score
ExpressVPN Review

9.6Editor's score
Support
10
Speed
9
Privacy
8
Usability
9.5
Value
7.5
6.8User's score
Support
7.7
Speed
6.5
Privacy
7
Usability
7.1
Value
5.7
Add your review  |  Read reviews and comments

————————

With over 120 different VPN providers on the market, and most of them claiming the be the fastest / safest / best, it’s hard to know how to choose and whom to avoid.

In our continuing effort to pull back the promising and pristine covers and expose the dirty truth behind their lofty claims, we’re giving you the down and dirty on Express VPN today.

 

Will it work on your operating system? 

The first step in working out which VPN is right for you is ruling out any VPN that doesn’t work on your operating system.

After all, the last thing you want to do is sign up for the fastest VPN only to find out that it doesn’t run on your iPhone (yes, they do exist).

The good news is that ExpressVPN works on all operating systems.

It works on OS (Mac), Windows (PC), iOS (iPhone), Android (just about every other smart phone), and even Linux! (shoutout to all you hardcore Linux fans)

This means it doesn’t matter if you switch between your PC at home and iPhone on the go, you can still use Express VPN.

Rating: 5/5 – ExpressVPN works on all operating systems

 

Get ExpressVPN

What are the features ?

There’s no point in signing up for a VPN because it’ll work on your Android phone and Mac if it doesn’t have the features you want.

So can ExpressVPN give you what you need to get full value out of your VPN? It depends if you want…

 

Feature #1: Multiple Connections

ExpressVPN will let you connect one mobile and one desktop device at the same time from each subscription.

That means you can stream House Of Cards on your PC whilst your partner securely accesses your bank accounts.

Rating: 4/5 – Connect from your desktop and mobile at the same time

 

Feature #2: Money-Back Guarantee

ExpressVPN’s service is backed by their 30-day money-back guarantee. This means that for some bizarre reason, if you’re not 100% satisfied and want a refund, you have 30 days to make up your mind.

Given the extensive research we’ve done for this review and the results we’ve found, I can’t see any reason why you would need to get a refund but it’s there in case you want it.

Rating: 5/5 – 30-day money-back guarantee

 

Feature #3: Number of Servers

In terms of numbers of servers, ExpressVPN falls into the category of ‘more servers in more countries than you could ever need’ with 1700+ servers in 145 cities / 94 countries.

Is that the most of all VPN providers? No, it’s not. There are some VPN providers with more but do you really need more than 78 countries?

Is there a real reason you need to browse the search engine results of Turkmenistan? No, I didn’t think so.

Which is why ExpressVPN has more than you’ll ever use.

Rating: 4.5/5 – More servers in more cities than you can ever use

 

Feature #4: Referral Program

You know what’s better than using the best VPN on the market? Getting it for free when you refer your friend to it.

ExpressVPN has a market-leading 1-month bonus when any friends you refer sign up to ExpressVPN.

Rating: 5/5 – 1-month free access for every referral

 

Feature #5: Data Logging

What’s the point of increasing your internet security through using a VPN if your data is then just turned over to government authorities when they submit a simple request form?

Yes, this is possible, but only if the VPN company keeps logs of your browsing data.

Luckily for you, ExpressVPN doesn’t log your data browsing data so your internet browsing habits will never end up in the hands of people you don’t want to see it.

Rating: 5/5 – No internet browsing data stored

 

Feature #6: Bandwidth

The only thing more frustrating than not getting access to your favourite Netflix shows whilst overseas is getting halfway through the new season of Orange is the New Black only to have your VPN bandwidth run out.

Lame.

Luckily for you, ExpressVPN has unlimited bandwidth meaning you can stream as many movies and browse as much as you want without ever having to worry that you’re going to run out or incur overage fees.

Rating: 5/5 – Unlimited Bandwidth

 

Get ExpressVPN

How secure is it?

ExpressVPN uses the highest level of security in the VPN industry – 256bit encryption – which means your information is safe.

You can safely access your bank details, private files, and any other sensitive information without worrying whether your data is compromised.

For the geeks out there: ExpressVPN runs on the standard OpenVPN protocol though you can switch to L2TP or PTPP protocol if you need to stream things at ultra-high speeds.

Rating: 5/5 – 256bit encryption ensures your data is always safe

Get ExpressVPN

What’s the setup process like?

Getting started is simple. The website is clear, straightforward, and simple to navigate. Just click on the big ‘Get Express VPN’ button on their home page.

Express VPN Homepage

Their signup form is also straightforward. It’s three simple sections:

  1. Choose your plan
  2. Enter your email address
  3. Pay

There’s no extended questionnaire that asks you pointless questions that aren’t necessary. It’s just three sections and you’re one.

Once you’re signed up, you receive an email with your download links and activation codes. From there, it’s just a matter of downloading the software, inputting the activation code, and you’re on your way.

Rating 5/5: The entire setup process takes less than 5 minutes

 

Get ExpressVPN

How easy is it to use?

Their system is incredibly easy to use. All you do is open the program, click on the big, obvious connect button, and the system does the rest.

If you want to choose a specific server location, you can by simply following the very obvious prompts, but you don’t need to.

If you want to choose a different connection protocol, you can do so by navigating through the simple and straightforward preferences menu, but you don’t need to.

And once the connection is established, it just sits in the background doing its thing whilst you browse with your high speeds and unlimited bandwidth.

Rating: 5/5 – So easy that your blind, deaf, grandmother could use it

 

Get ExpressVPN

What if you run into problems?

Now we get to the real test of any company – the support.

Most well-run companies can appear competent when things are running smoothly, but it’s only once you start to poke and prod beneath the colorful and well laid-out exterior that you really get a sense of how good something really is.

So that’s what we did. But before we get into the test, here are two important factors to consider:

 

24/7 support?

VPNs are great for streaming content that’s normally restricted to a particular country when you’re not in that country (e.g. Netflix in the US).

But, if your VPN provider only has support in US business hours and you’ve got a problem in Australia at 10pm (which is the middle of the night in the US), what use is your VPN?

Because of this, 24/7 support is critical when choosing any VPN provider.

Luckily for you, Express VPN has 24/7 support so you can get the help you need, when you need it, regardless of the weird time zone you’re stuck in.

Rating 5/5 – 24/7 support FTW!

 

Support Channels

What’s the use of 24/7 support if the only way to access that support is via carrier pigeon or telegram? Support is only as useful as you’re able to make use of it.

ExpressVPN offers two 24/7 support channels – realtime chat and email support.

They don’t have phone support, which some people prefer, but the speed of the text chat more than makes up for the lack of phone support. And really, who wants to be paying international call rates to get help logging in to your VPN?

Rating 4/5 – Realtime chat and email support

 

Customer support test

The real test of any support system isn’t in the claims it makes about availability or the different channels that are available. It’s in how well the support system works.

How long do they take to respond?

How well do they answer your questions?

How polite are they?

To make sure this review is comprehensive and complete, we’ve conducted a test of the two support channels available

 

Email Support Test #1 – Sunday 3:38am

The first support test email we sent was at 3:38am CST on a Sunday. We chose this time because so many people use VPNs whilst travelling outside the US and we wanted to make sure that support would be available for their crazy time zones.

We received an automatic confirmation that the support ticket had been received at 3:39am and an actual response from their tech support at 3:51am.

The response was polite, courteous, apologized for the problem, and asked us for more information so they could help us resolve the problem ASAP.

Result: 13-minute response time

Rating: 5/5 Anything less than an hour is incredible

 

Email Support Test #2 – Tuesday 11:26am 

For the next test, we wanted to see how well they could answer our support ticket during what we thought would be peak hours, so we fired the support a request email at 11:26am on a Tuesday.

The automated confirmation that they’d received the email came through at 11:26am and the support team replied at 11:43am.

Once again, the email was courteous, polite, and apologetic and asked for more information to get the issue resolved.

Result: 17-minute response time

Rating: 5/5 Anything less than an hour is incredible

 

Live Chat Support Test #1 – 2:14am Saturday

Ok, so their email support is good – but 13 minutes is still 13 minutes of waiting – so we decided to test their live chat service.

We logged on to their support panel at 2:14am on a Saturday one night after a few choice beverages and some fun at the Secure Thoughts offices just to see how 24/7 their support really was.

The live chat connection was established at 2:14am and the ‘Just a moment…’ notification appeared straight away. A polite young man named Jayson offered us assistance in 26 seconds and we were up and running.

As there wasn’t a real issue to work through, we’re not able to say how good he was at providing his support but he seemed nice.

Results: 26-second response time

Rating: 5/5 Anything less than 5 minutes is incredible

 

Live Chat Support Test #2 – 6:44pm Thursday

The final support test we ran was another peak hour test. We wanted to see just how quickly they could respond once all the office workers got home and started trying to jump online.

So, we jumped on their support page at 6:44pm, opened up their live chat, and started banging away.

This one took CONSIDERABLY longer than the first… but when ‘considerably longer’ is 10 seconds longer, I’m happy 🙂

Result: 36-second response time

Rating: 5/5 Anything less than 5 minutes is incredible

 

Overall, I would say that ExpressVPN’s support is WELL above average. 13 and 17-minute response times to email support and 36 seconds as the longest wait for live chat support are better than we’ve found on any other VPN provider.

Rating 20/20: A maximum of a 17-minute wait time on 4 support tickets

 

Get ExpressVPN

How fast is it?

What’s the point in getting the VPN with the most features, that’s the most secure, and has the most servers, if it’s so slow you may as well be using dial-up internet?

The modern internet is built around speed and without it, browsing and streaming is not fun at all.

So how fast is ExpressVPN? The answer is: This fast.

Without Express VPN

Express VPN Review Speed test

 

With Express VPN

Express VPN Review Speed Test 2

 

The difference in Ping time is basically negligible, the download speed is slightly lower, as is the upload speed.

These small differences are the best I’ve found in the industry, so Express VPN gets a thumbs up here.

Rating: 4.5/5 – Only a slight reduction in connection speed

 

Get ExpressVPN

How much does it cost?

Now, the important part – cost.

How much is it to get more servers than you’ll ever need, 256bit encryption, the fastest connection in the industry, and top-level, 24/7 support?

Well, to be honest, it’s a little more than most VPN providers.

Express VPN Review Price Comparison

3 Extra Months FREE

Exclusive Limited Time Deal: 12 Months + 3 Months FREE for a yearly subscription.

$6.67 $12.95

The great thing about VPNs though is that they’re so cheap that even a ‘little more than most VPN providers’ is still only as much as a cup of coffee every few weeks.

Is that more than some other providers? Yes.

Is it worth it for the best security, fastest speeds, and best support available? I have no doubt saying ‘Yes.’

Result: 4/5 – Well worth the extra few dollars

 

Get ExpressVPN

The X Factor

The final element for you to consider is ‘The X Factor.’

Sometimes, companies produce a piece of software that, in theory, ticks all the boxes – in that it does what it’s supposed to do and is supported by a solid system – but there’s something missing.

Maybe it’s that the software just isn’t as intuitive as it should be. Maybe it’s that the team supporting it was just a little bit short.

Because of that, we’re including ‘The X Factor’ in this review.

And, I’m happy to say that ExpressVPN has that X Factor. It just seems to do everything right. The system logs in quickly, it’s designed intuitively, it works well, and the team supporting it is fast, polite, and efficient.

Rating 10/10 – Fast, intuitive, and well supported

 

Get ExpressVPN

 

Conclusion

There’s a lot to take in here so let me break it down for you.

 

What Was Great:

There’s a lot to list here:

  • The fact that it works on all operating systems
  • 30-day money-back guarantee
  • The ability to connect to multiple devices at once
  • 97 servers in 78 countries
  • A referral program
  • No data logging
  • Unlimited Bandwidth
  • Easy to use
  • 256bit Encryption
  • Amazing customer support
  • Excellent speed

That’s a big list but there’s a reason why after testing 30 different VPN providers, ExpressVPN is the one I use.

What Could Be Better:

This is a pretty short list. The only two things that could be improved is that they’re located in the US and must store your IP address and bandwidth used (but not the websites you visited or the data you downloaded) and that they don’t have phone support.

But when the data they store doesn’t indicate which sites you’ve visited and what you’ve downloaded and the live chat responds in less than 40 seconds, why would you worry?

Overall Score: 96/100

ExpressVPN is the industry leader in features, support, simplicity, and value for money.

If you think that having a problem-free browsing experience whilst being 100% safe and secure is worth a few dollars a month, then I have no doubt in saying that ExpressVPN is for you.

To get the highest rated VPN we’ve reviewed, sign up here: Express VPN

 

 

Bryan is a proud, career U.S. Air Force officer with over 20 years experience in IT, cyber security, and acquisitions.

34 Comments
Show all Highest Rating Lowest Rating Add your review
  1. Reply allprogadgets@gmail.com'
    MADHUSUDHAN REDDY NALLA
    November 29, 2015 at 4:11 pm

    Can’t do without… Allows for stable access to all my needed sites in the states, when I am overseas. A large selection of possible countries to connect to. Great product guys.

  2. Reply azaxman@aol.com'
    Dan
    February 14, 2016 at 1:35 am

    Pouring over VPN reviews it is hard to weed through who is getting paid to review or use the product and who is actually independently reviewing a service. All those “Top 10′ sites appear to be paid advertisements. I like what I have read so far regarding Express VPN, but is this a real review? Are you really offering up independent information? Not being a pain just asking the question. I currently have VPN Unlimited and it is not the best of relationships. Thanks

    • Reply aj@live.com'
      John
      September 15, 2016 at 11:19 am
      4.5
      Support
      90
      Speed
      90
      Privacy
      100
      Usability
      100
      Value
      70

      I work in IT and after doing some research decided on ExpressVPN. I am concerned that they have US based servers

      + PROS: My first VPN experience, wish I had joined years ago. *Ease of use / setup / installation! *Speeds are great, at least with US based servers. *All tests ran related to DNS leak and anonymity were good!
      - CONS: A little on the expensive side, but still worth it! Concerned that they have US based servers.. the speeds are better using them but is there truly any logging going on since they are in the US, outside of their promise on the website... that's an answer that cant be known.
    • Reply
      Lyndon Seitz
      February 14, 2016 at 5:36 pm

      Hi Dan,

      Yes we get paid by Express VPN for our review. However we get paid by most of the VPN services so in theory it is a level playing field. We have reviewed around 100 VPN’s to date. Some get really bad reviews. Checkout our VPN unlimited review, we gave them 67/100. This seems to be in line with your experience with them.

      We try to stay independent. We have the same staff member review each VPN for consistency. Express VPN is one of the largest if not largest VPN com[any by total customers on the internet. They have a great service for the average user. If you are looking for no log VPN for privacy we suggest AirVPN.

  3. Reply giveawaysfreestuff@yahoo.com'
    Billy
    February 16, 2016 at 1:35 pm

    Sorry, but there is no way I can trust a review being paid by the product one is reviewing .. Even as you say “However we get paid by most of the VPN services” I can`t help but think who pay`s the most goes to the top .
    It is very frustrating that one can`t find a legit review site on line about VPN`s .Good luck everyone

  4. Reply Levitsky@yahoo.com'
    Levitsky
    February 26, 2016 at 4:57 am

    Thanks

  5. Reply nabdernagor@gmail.com'
    Manarth Shah
    March 22, 2016 at 4:12 am

    “RATING: 4.5/5 – MORE SERVERS IN MORE CITIES THAN YOU CAN EVER USE”

    How is that not a 5/5..? Im going with tunnelbear; 3 connections, less than $5 a month, and idgaf about customer service.

  6. Reply hmercusot@sympatico.ca'
    Hugues
    March 31, 2016 at 3:33 pm

    Hi,

    I choose ExpressVPN based on this sort of pseudo independant-even-if-sponsored review.

    It works as described … when it works ! Servers in Canada, specifically in Montreal, are not always up for OpenVPN and in PPTP the throuput is often so bad that even a youtube video could not bee seen.

    Yes the support team is fast to answer you … that you can use all the other servers thru out the rest of the world … Thanks for this useless answer that doesn’t solve the trouble with canadian servers.

    • Reply
      Lyndon Seitz
      April 7, 2016 at 11:21 am

      Hi Hughes,

      It seems to be a very fluid environment at the moment. As you say it works when it does. The Express team is constantly working to make sure all server locations are open. Perhaps try one of the other services we recommended and see if they have an open server ?

  7. Reply zeratul@elisanet.fi'
    Juha
    April 8, 2016 at 7:02 pm

    I fought 3 months with IPVanish.In that time i couldnt get openvpn work. Plus not single mail or any help from support and i asked it 6times send mails with errorlogs and got nothing back. Last night changed it expressvpn and in ten minutes i was surfing using openvpn and zero problems.

    • Reply zeratul@elisanet.fi'
      Juha
      May 2, 2016 at 10:16 pm

      Hi. Heres some thoughts of expressvpn.Couldnt be more Happy! Zero problems,fast reliable connections,Only 2 times i have lost connection in EVPN IPVanish lost connection constantly..around 8-10 times a day.
      Really think that im customer for life.So big thanks to ppl at ExpressVPN for great and easy to use program. +fast stable connections 🙂

      • Reply
        Lyndon Seitz
        May 9, 2016 at 8:50 am

        Thanks Juha! Glad to hear it.

    • Reply
      Lyndon Seitz
      April 11, 2016 at 8:08 am

      Great to hear!

  8. Reply jim@jamesprobinsonlaw.com'
    Jim
    August 1, 2016 at 4:54 am

    You state that ExpressVPN is US based and that is why it logs gross usage. However, everything I can find about the company states they BVI based. Which is it? Likewise, even if they are only logging gross usage, they cannot qualify as truly no log and should not have gotten a 5/5 in that category.

    • Reply
      Lyndon Seitz
      August 2, 2016 at 2:47 pm

      Hey Jim,

      We Did make a mistake about the US versus BVI company. ExpressVPN is a British Virgin Islands company and does not come under the 5 eyes laws.

      Best,
      Lyndon

  9. Reply tipjarmusic@gmail.com'
    James Hooker
    August 1, 2016 at 11:16 pm
    4.9
    Support
    100
    Speed
    90
    Privacy
    100
    Usability
    100
    Value
    100

    So far, after what? 2/3 months? Everything is slick as snot. I’m in Spain and Express VPN takes me back home (US) with ease. I’ll keep them – until and if it stops working. Only then will I comment to discuss their parentage.

    + PROS: It works
    - CONS: None at the moment.
  10. Reply nanderson187@yahoo.com'
    Nick
    August 26, 2016 at 6:46 pm
    4
    Support
    80
    Speed
    80
    Privacy
    80
    Usability
    80
    Value
    80

    Issue with Express VPN I emailed support about; I thought I would share.

    I tried a few different things. I’m on the Playstation 4 system. We play Grand Theft Auto 5 and Call of Duty a lot, they are shooting games and people seem to get really angry over those games. I have never pulled an ip or booted a day in my life and don’t plan on it, but some of the people who play those game do pull ips and boot people offline who are better than them. I’m a victim of that. I contact my isp and got a new modem in order to get a new ip address, I also ordered a vpn router from tp-link. I have the tlr600vpn model and purchased your vpn service because of it high bandwidth speeds. I did not get back on the Playstation 4 until I had everything setup and my vpn running. At that point I had a friend who recently acquired an ip sniffer (Wireshark) and several different booters. I decided I wanted to test how well my vpn works and if I’m able to be booted. We went into a party chat on the Playstation 4 system and I had him to sniff my ip. He was only able to see the ip of whatever vpn location I was connected to and the port. I told him to try and hit me offline using what he pulled. 1st he used a weak booter and I could hear the party chat lag a little bit but I did not go offline. 2nd he said let me use this stronger booter and he would stop it as soon as I went offline. As soon as he started it I heard the party chat lag and a few seconds later I was completely offline. He immediately stopped it, I got back on and he told me my vpn ain’t sh**. We continued the testing: I would switch to different locations, he would sniff the ip and boot. He used the port that was provided and some of the other more popular ports booters use such as (port 80) when he sniffed the ip of my vpn location. Each time I went offline when he booted me. The only way he was not able to boot me is if I switched vpn locations and he attempted to boot me before getting my new ip location. We have pretty much come to the conclusion that if someone were to pull my ip even though it would be to the vpn location, if they ddos me they would be able to knock me offline even through a vpn. I was also thinking ‘what if’ without ddos protection everyone that’s connected to that vpn server may be getting knocked offline as well. I know there are a lot of people who play games and depend on vpn servers to keep them safe and worry free when playing games whether causual or competitive, I even recommended this to all my friends online, but after all the testing they have reconsidered. I tried tweaking every setting I could think of on the vpn side, as well as in the vpn router. I feel lucky it was a friend helping me test it and he stopped as soon as I went offline. If it was an actual a**hole online I could possibly be off for hours.

    + PROS: Fast speeds.
    - CONS: Can still be ddos'd
  11. Reply mtoda@hotmail.com'
    Mike
    August 31, 2016 at 8:29 am
    2.7
    Support
    100
    Speed
    10
    Privacy
    100
    Usability
    20
    Value
    40

    Didn’t work out for me, but their customer service was better than expected. I gave them a try thinking that they had the best speeds available. Maybe they did since i haven’t tried anything else, but once I started using them, my interest speed slowed down to back the the dial up modem days. Even loading just simple websites would take a minute or two. I chatted with their service rep which I got a hold of via their live chat quite fast. Changed a few settings, but it was still slow. Changing locations of different servers didn’t help either. So a few days later I cancelled and asked for a refund. A few days after that, I got my refund back. Overall, it didn’t work out for me, but at least they didn’t try to scam me out of my money and their customer service was pretty good.

    + PROS: Customer service is easily available when you need them. They refunded me even though it didn't work out for me. At least they are an honest company.
    - CONS: Speeds just wasn't what I was expecting.
  12. Reply business.mailer@gmail.com'
    CA_Construction
    September 17, 2016 at 12:30 pm
    1.2
    Support
    10
    Speed
    50
    Privacy
    40
    Usability
    10
    Value
    10

    I’m not at all happy with ExpressVPN. We’ve had them for less than a month and already we have a major problem. The Internet leak problem–data getting through before the VPN has a chance to connect–is supposedly fixed via an access block that prevents all traffic outside the VPN. But when the VPN fails or is removed from your computer, it’s not easy to switch settings back to access the Internet. ExpressVPN started shutting down my computers, so I disabled the program, only to find that none of my machines would access the Internet.

    So I contacted support. And then the fun began. They ran me around useless “fixes” and when they realized they didn’t understand the problem or how to fix it, they told me they’d have to contact their higher uppers for help. I never heard back from support–even after multiple more attempts to contact them–or the higher uppers. I’d asked for their corporate headquarters contact, and they told me my only recourse was to email their standard support desk. Searching on Owler for the owner(s) turns up “unknown.”

    Good luck to you if you have anything but a rudimentary problem. The support staff aren’t engineers, but technicians with extremely limited knowledge. And if your machine is your livelihood, and something goes really wrong, then you may face lost revenue from downtime AND an expensive expert fix (paying an expert to undo whatever ExpressVPN does to the machine). When you remove a program from your machine, the original machine settings ought to be restored–not just leaving the once-customer on his/her own to figure out how to get the machine back to the way it was.

    ExpressVPN earns a “poor” from me for customer service, to say nothing of what I think of an internet disabling feature that remains active even after the program has supposedly been removed from the machine.

    + PROS: WHEN it works, it appears to do what it advertises. Not too great a speed hit.
    - CONS: When it stops working, you're in for massive headaches. Not even support can help you, and they soon get sick of your requests for help, so stop responding. Since to communicate with them you've provided your email address, and then if you're desperate enough for help, maybe even your phone # (since thanks to their Internet block feature you may no longer have access to the Internet...)--so there goes privacy. Then you're totally on your own.
  13. Reply reybontang@gmail.com'
    reybontang
    September 19, 2016 at 1:55 am
    5
    Support
    100
    Speed
    100
    Privacy
    100
    Usability
    100
    Value
    100

    The support they gave me is incredible, Ive never seen any websites help me so much, everyone on that website is extremely helpful! They deserve a five star on everything just based on how kind they are!

    + PROS: Helpful, Patient, Kind Helpers.
  14. Reply jacques.hadit@yopmail.com'
    jacques
    November 18, 2016 at 10:09 pm
    2.5
    Support
    80
    Speed
    50
    Privacy
    20
    Usability
    80
    Value
    20

    Don’t buy a U.S. based VPN !!!! too dangerous …
    Prefer NordVpn , PureVpn or Cryptostorm

    + PROS: good support
    - CONS: US based = major privacy fail not so fast
    • Reply shinedowness@gmail.com'
      anonymous
      May 16, 2017 at 2:15 pm

      They made a mistake on the review that has not been revised unfortunately. It is not based in the US, it is based in the BVI. Still, it does have its flaws like ridiculously not being compatible with certain individuals’ computers, sometimes having bad customer service, and not being honest. The dishonesty can be proven when you try to connect to a VPN IP address that does not match the state or country that you wanted to connect to in the first place. You can check by going to an outside source online to look up your IP address that you ACTUALLY connected to instead of relying on what ExpressVPN tells you.

      • Reply admin@webpals.com'
        Admin
        May 22, 2017 at 6:50 am

        Thanks for that pickup. You are 100% correct they are in the BVI, we will get this fixed.

  15. Reply pirtpals@gmail.com'
    paul
    December 1, 2016 at 7:20 pm

    Signed up for Express vpn and bought brand new WRT3200crm router even I already had Linksys ea 9500,
    They have firmware to change on your router and then you are stuck because they said go and check online how to fix. I was so shocked because I was thinking if they do this so they might also know how to go back to original firmware and made me stuck, I had to change VPN from router to computer because my POS system and bank does not work on VPN, Then I thought I might talk to someone who maybe don’t know how to do. Then I contact again and same answer. Then I had to talk to Linksys and they will have alert on their site because its open source and does not mean make anyone stuck and yes not even cheaper at all.

    The biggest surprise was this they also turn my VPN key to expired I had 6 months but only had service for maybe 2 months.

    Just be careful do not make yourself make mistake as I have done.

  16. Reply jxehall@bigpond.com'
    J.Hall
    December 10, 2016 at 11:39 pm
    0.7
    Support
    70
    Speed
    0
    Privacy
    0
    Usability
    0
    Value
    0

    There is something VERY wrong with the Express VPN service. The speed reduction experienced when it is turned on is almost 100%. Tech-support are unable to identify the problem, & have zero explanation. I’m talking completely beyond snails pace- 570MB file would take LITERALLY over a week to download- when VPN turned off it downloaded in less than 10 mins. Luckily I had the 30 day money back option or that would have been a complete waste of $100. When I first started using it, it worked fine, then after approx’ 2 weeks the problems started- made no difference what time of day I used it, the speeds would drop off to 0.3KB/sec or even 0.0KB/Sec. Really disappointing!!

  17. Reply wcfeader@gmail.com'
    William
    January 16, 2017 at 1:14 am

    Have been using Express VPN for well over a year and everything that this article says, is true, at least for me. Did have a single issue yesterday when I was getting page redirects while connected to Vancouver. Turns out the guy who was doing it was a convicted felon, well known to law enforcement and living in Florida (where else?). Suspect he has ties to both the mafia and the cia. Anyhow, I just connected to another server. Then this morning after logging into and out of Facebook, I received a notice from them that my account had been hacked. It was a weird kind of thing because the notification came the instant I logged off, so I suspect a glitch with Facebook rather than ExpresVPN. Nobody should be using Facebook or Google or Gmail anyhow because the NSA and all the spooks have free back doors into those products.

  18. Reply clark.marie@gmx.com'
    marie
    February 8, 2017 at 7:22 am

    Went with this service because of their “no logging” policy and overall have been very happy. I always leave the vpn connected and most of the time I don’t even notice it’s on. Occasionally I’ll check my IP to be sure it’s working.

    The app itself is pretty cut n dry, which I actually like. Connecting to a server takes less than a min. I was experiencing slow speeds at first and wasn’t sure what all the different protocol options meant, but after a few minutes of chatting with their customer service they helped me understand how the protocol options were different and when to use them.

  19. Reply davidschoet@outlook.dk'
    David
    March 2, 2017 at 9:38 am
    3.7
    Support
    90
    Speed
    50
    Privacy
    70
    Usability
    90
    Value
    70

    I am from Denmark and i have used Express VPN for almost a year now. Overall, I think that Express VPN and Nord VPN are the best VPN services on the market, Yes, Express VPN sometimes have some speed issues and it is pricey, but the usability, support and server options makes it a superb VPN provider.

    + PROS: - Speed - Many server locations to choose from - Helpful and fast support
    - CONS: - A bit expensive compared to other VPN services on the market
  20. Reply take.kibo@gmail.com'
    Klimer Mat
    March 26, 2017 at 3:29 pm
    1.5
    Support
    0
    Speed
    40
    Privacy
    50
    Usability
    40
    Value
    20

    The reason I signed up was, because I heard they had great speed, great customer support and great uptime.

    Turns out though that their customer support is the worst, they are far from experts and just read from manuals which are similar the articles they already have online. They can’t actually troubleshoot any problems.

    Initially I liked the service and the software, but I’ve been plagued by slow speeds, all servers closest to me perform poorly and 1 doesn’t connect. So I have to choose between low ping and low speed or high ping and high speed.

    They don’t support 1 single travel router, I still got one and I’m not getting more than 1mbps when its 12mbps normally. Customer support couldn’t do anything to help.

    The extra price doesn’t get you more sadly.

    + PROS: dekstop and smartphone software easy to use
    - CONS: no travel router support no expert support inconsistent speeds not all servers work well
  21. Reply hvtruitt@gmail.com'
    Harry
    April 16, 2017 at 7:42 pm

    How easy is it to cancel? I only need it for 1 month, and want to cancel with no more billing. Possible?

    • Reply admin@webpals.com'
      Admin
      April 18, 2017 at 10:33 am

      Yes very easy to cancel if you need it for 1 month.

  22. Reply phaecops97@gmail.com'
    Harold
    May 14, 2017 at 10:19 am
    4
    Support
    100
    Speed
    90
    Privacy
    40
    Usability
    100
    Value
    70

    ExpressVPN unfortunately does not give you the browsing anonymity that you would expect of a VPN since, when active, it allows IP connections between your computer and DropBox, OneDrive to pass identifying data through your supposedly anonymous VPN IP address. So any NSA or FBI data sniffer could simply look at your DropBox account to see who is using the ExpressVPN IP address. Very bad.

  23. Reply henryv2245@yopmail.com'
    Henry VLad
    May 23, 2017 at 6:47 pm

    Has anyone noticed how similar Expressvpn, ipvanish and others look very similar ? Just look at their sign up page that shows the pricing options – looks l,ike the same company. Has anyone noticed how they dont accept Vanilla visa debit card ? NordVPN does, but their support is as bad as any of the other VPN services all of which use some remote chat service agent most of whom would not know a network or the OSI stack if it bit them in the gluteals. Why are all of these VPN services so incompetent ? When is the marketplace going to provide a VPN service with experienced support, with reliable service and reviewers who are not a part of some sales organization that can’t be trusted. Where can one get a real review of these services ? This is like the early days of

  24. Reply garywoods10@yahoo.com'
    Gary
    August 12, 2017 at 9:02 am
    4.9
    Support
    100
    Speed
    90
    Privacy
    100
    Usability
    100
    Value
    100

    Very interesting reviews and comments, i myself have been using expressVPN for over 3 years, i travel the world on business and without expressvpn my business would not operate. I do business and banking transactions while traveling, as i travel Middle East, all of Asia and Europe l have never experienced any problems with expressvpn, it’s fast, l have full access to Google and other sites while in all of the above countries i have never had problems with any banking transaction or hacking issues.
    From my personal experience i would give them 10 out of 10
    Great job Express VPN
    Gary

    + PROS: Very Satisfied
    - CONS: No Cons at this point in time

    Leave a reply

    Your total score